Run-off Election for City Council is Sep. 21 

On June 15, 2021, the Beaverton City Council adopted Resolution 4729, stating the official results of the May 18, 2021, Special Election to fill vacant City Councilor Position 1. The vacancy was created when Councilor Lacey Beaty was elected to the office of mayor and resigned from City Council. On January 12, 2021, the Council declared that seat vacant and called for a Special Election on May 18, 2021, to fill Position 1 through the unexpired term ending December 31, 2022. 

Five candidates filed to run for the office and the results of the election were:  

The total number of votes cast for Councilor Position 1 was 13,534.  

The number of votes cast for each candidate was:  

Ashley Hartmeier-Prigg 6,639  

Brandon Culbertson 459  

Jerome Sibayan 5,226  

Christian Salgado 804  

Andy J. Garcia 366  

Write-Ins 40 

No candidate received a majority of the total number of votes cast for Council Position 1. Per Beaverton Charter of 2021, Article 5.9(c), if no candidate receives a majority of the total number of votes cast for all candidates for the position, then a run-off election between the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes must be held at the election that is next available pursuant to state law. Per the official election results of the May 18 Special Election and the requirements of the Beaverton Charter of 2021, the names of council candidates Ashley Hartmeier-Prigg and Jerome Sibayan will be placed on the ballot for a run-off election at the Special Election of September 21, 2021.The last day to register to vote in the September election is August 31, 2021. 

Ballot Drop-off Info  

There is now a drive-up ballot drop box on Hall Boulevard across the street from the main library for 24/7 ballot returns. For ballot drop sites at other locations, including the Murray Scholls branch library, visit