New City Councilors, Mayor

In January, the new Beaverton city councilors and mayor took part in a small ceremony welcoming them to their new roles.  

Mayor Lacey Beaty, Councilor Mark Fagin, Councilor Nadia Hasan and Councilor Allison Tivnon were sworn in to their positions, joining fellow positions held by Councilor Laura Mitchell and Councilor Marc San Soucie.  

The intimate ceremony included remarks and photo opportunities with friends and family in a socially distanced setting with safety protocols in place.  

The changes reflect results from the November 2020 general election, as well as voter-approved changes to Beaverton’s city charter that expanded the Beaverton City Council to include seven members: six part-time city councilors and one full-time mayor with voting privileges. An additional vacated position (Council Position 1) will be filled after the May election. 

Council Quotes  

Here are excerpts as well as full statements from your mayor and councilors.

Lacey Beaty, Mayor “I’m very lucky to serve as the first woman mayor Beaverton has elected but I hope I most certainly will not be the last. […] I’m excited to take on that role to roll up my sleeves and get to work. Beaverton, your council is ready to work for you.” 

Nadia Hasan, Council Position 6 “I am so excited to be your new Beaverton city councilor. Our city is beautiful with expansive parks, roads, communities and people. I am so excited to work with our mayor, City Council, city staff and you, our community, to make this a beautiful Beaverton.” 

Mark Fagin, Council Position 3 “I [miss] our time together as a community and I look forward to the time that we can gather again. Until then, in my final term, I will continue to do my best to serve our city and I look forward to the time that we can be together.” 

Laura Mitchell, Council Position 2 “It’s going to be a year of news! We’ve got some new city councilors. We’ve got a new city manager position, a new charter, and a lot of new sense of excitement when it comes to approaching all of the great things that are going to come this year. Thank you so much for choosing Beaverton to be your home.” 

Marc San Soucie, Council Position 5 “2021 is going to be the year of new things happening here and hopefully a year where we all get past this COVID pandemic. […] I hope you’ll join me and my colleagues on the council and our new mayor and our new city manager in doing the best we can to make 2021 a really awesome year.” 

Allison Tivnon, Council Position 4 “Thank you so much for allowing me this opportunity. […] There’s a lot of things that I can’t wait to help tackle as we navigate our way through the pandemic and the recession and help our community members that are reeling from that. […] Thank you for giving me the opportunity to get close to all the issues that Beaverton cares about.” 

About the City Council  

The City of Beaverton mayor and six councilors are all elected at-large to serve four-year terms. They are all elected to represent the entire city. The city is not divided into council districts.